Christine O’Donnell, Please Stop Existing Now

It’s like my friend Hecate says,

Last person I heard say, “I’m you,” was Linda Tripp.Who was, you know, not me.

You’re right Christine, you’re not a witch, but you’re not me either.

The saddest thing about this ad is it’s mere existence. Women in politics have been called witches for a long time. For example:

I just want you to know, that was the worse google image search I have ever had to do in my entire life, but I digress. As I was saying, calling women in politics witches is par for the course. This is mostly due to jealousy. O’Donnell WISHES she could be as bad ass as a witch. But it is also because people seem to think it is a demeaning and derogatory insult to call a woman a witch. I mean, when people call me a witch I toss my hair and say, “why, thank you.” But maybe that’s just me.

By saying, “I’m not a witch,” O’Donnell, may not be mimicking Nixon’s “I’m not a crook.” Obviously, everyone knows she isn’t a witch, because that is extremely silly. But what is even sillier is the fact that PINOs have been so shrill about her “dabbling in witchcraft” comments when instead they could have been focusing on her extreme views and stances on the issues, which are much more alarming.

A recent study by Captain Obvious found that sexist attacks and sexist media coverage hurt women who run for public office politically, and that when faced with such obstacles, they should always respond to them. By responding to Obots who would rather call her a witch (And seriously, WHY? We don’t want her) than point out things like this:

My Deal With Delaware is that I pledge I will always vote in favor of life and families. Now more than ever we must elect Senators who have a real understanding and deep appreciation for human life. There has been a profound loss of respect for all human life. Women are starting to come forward to break the silence about the mental and physical scars left on their lives by abortion. We must renew the commitment to respect all human life on which the Republican Party was founded.

O’Donnell is combating sexist attacks and media coverage aimed at her, and that’s smart politics, which is too bad for us.

4 Responses

  1. Chrissie says “I’ll do exactly as you would.” I think we’ve already established that there’s at least one thing I do that she won’t.

    Y’know, she looks really cute in that video … oops!

  2. Eh, she’s cute but she’s not my type. I like women who are more striking looking.

  3. She slightly earned more rather than less credit in my eyes for the witchcraft comment. I had to explain last night to my 15-year old son the difference between pagans, witches,and satanists. I’m getting really tired of the witch-bashing, myself. One day maybe we’ll have a pagan proud to run for office, but I wonder if he or she has any more chance than an agnostic or atheist of being elected. I doubt it; we seem to be backsliding.

  4. I think about that too. And sadly, I think you’re right. Maybe one day it would be possible for a Pagan to run for office, but right now I don’t think it is.

Leave a Reply

